top of page

Insecure Season 5, Episode 1: Reunited, Okay?

Aaaaaand we're back! Ugh, it feels like forever since I've watched this show (it has actually been over 16 months), and I'm wishing that I took this weekend to rewatch the last season to prepare myself for this day but here we are. I was so excited to get back into Insecure because this show has done so much for me from becoming a part of my research, making me question how I identified with different characters (I'm an Issa-Molly-Tiffany mashup), and encouraging me to get back into writing and having fun with it. But enough of the mushy stuff, we gon' get into this season and I CAN'T WAIT to share all my thoughts and to hear back from y'all, too!


First of all, the lil' recap at the beginning made me upset with Molly all over again and made me wonder how the heck Lawrence was gonna figure out his baby mama issue.


LOL that greeting between Issa and Molly- awkward but obligatory hug. BEEN THERE.

I love that the episode opens with each character being SO their character. It's like a little reintroduction to everybody.


College reunion, now THAT's something that I haven't done yet. I've def done the "I don't remember you" greeting before, though... mostly on Facebook. Yeah... I gotta stop that.


These people really think Kelly is dead even though she's staring right there at the reunion. I canNOT.


Issa and her reflection are back at it again. Younger Issa was just as goofy as today's Issa. I love it. Issa on this panel. Cringe. I hate to see her lose her fire in awkward situations. She says all the right things but then loses confidence, and it makes things even MORE awkward. I was waiting for her to fix everything with a great closing statement, but I guess that was asking too much.


I love how Issa and Molly are beginning to warm up to each other again. Slowly... with alcohol... low-key, casual, and just like old times. They're still a little awkward but at least they're being nice to each other. Molly finally came out with it and asked if they would be "okay", and even though Issa never answered, I'm pretty sure they'll be fine.


The gas station stick up was funny. It went from Cher in Clueless to a whole arrangement. I can't believe their friend set them up and robbed them. This would only happen to Issa and Molly. It's ridiculous but I love that this is something they can bond over. This scene cuts through some of that awkward energy. It's weird how we can bond with people over scary situations. Sucks that Molly had to lose her Cartier watch, though.


I'm glad Kelly got some redemption during this meal. At first, I thought she really did die, but I'm glad she's still around and her friends love her.


Aww Molly and Issa agree to move forward. I love how they keep starting these convos and then not finishing them. OK, LAWRENCE picking up Issa from the airport. Tiffany looks much happier with her baby. Kelly has a podcast now?? Prinny's Preguntas. The title could use some work but I'm sure it'll be hilarious.


Nice seeing Lawrence again, but where is your baby? We all wanna know. Issa says she "had a chance to think" but I need her to SAY whether or not she's going with him or not. This cliffhanger isn't doing it for me!


OK, this season left us with a few cliffhangers. Molly and Issa are still awkward with each other, but I have a feeling they'll resolve things throughout the season. Lawrence looks amazing BUT he is about to be someone's father so that kinda throws a wrench in things. Hopefully, we'll get some answers next week!


What did y'all think of tonight's episode?




17 views
bottom of page